Posts Tagged ‘oats’

Here is a question I recently received from FOODPICKER.org

I have type 2 diabetes and just found out I have gluten intolerance.  I haven’t been able to figure out what I can eat.  I have been leaving grains out of my diet.  What should I do?

Answer:  Gluten intolerance is a digestive disease in which gluten containing foods damage the small intestine and proper absorption of nutrients can not take place.  Gluten is a protein that can be found in wheat, rye, barley and sometimes oats, and should be therefore be eliminated from the diet.  Safe grains to eat include rice, potato and soy based products.  Although these foods do not contain gluten, they do contain carbohydrate and therefore portion sizes should be watched carefully.


Read Full Post »